Types of Sea Turtles

Flatback Sea Turtle

Its geographical distribution is limited, and its conservation status is discouraging. Natator depressus only inhabits the Australian coasts and nests in the beaches of Indonesia, Papua New Guinea, and northern Australia.

Sea Turtle Species

There are seven types or species of sea turtles, which have similar features but also have individual characteristics that make them unique in the world.

Loggerhead Sea Turtle

The loggerhead sea turtle is the second largest sea turtle. A peaceful reptile capable of coexisting with several marine species which nests mainly in the beaches of Florida and can live up to 67 years.

Olive Ridley Sea Turtle

Its population is the most abundant of all sea turtles, but this does not mean that they are out of danger. Lepidochelys olivacea has a conservation status as vulnerable. It is the only species with a variable number of scutes in the carapace.

Green Sea Turtle

The Green Sea Turtle is a fairly large species with a length of about five and a half feet and weighing up to 400 pounds. Chelonia mydas is a turtle that is not green.

Hawksbill Sea Turtle

This sea turtle is one of the most endangered animals in the world. Featuring a curved beak which got its colloquial name, Eretmochelys imbricata nests in the beaches of up to 70 countries.

Kemps Ridley Sea Turtle

All sea turtle species are in danger of extinction, but Lepidochelys kempii is one of the most affected as there are only around 1,000 reproductive females left in the wild.

Leatherback Sea Turtle

Dermochelys coriacea is the largest turtle in the world and the fourth largest reptile on the planet only smaller than three species of crocodiles. It is the only species that lacks a hard shell.